top of page

Pregnancy & Mary Jane


****I AM NOT A DOCTOR. I AM NOT A SCIENTIST. I AM JUST A BLOG WRITING MOM.

ALWAYS CONSULT YOUR PHYSICIAN BEFORE INGESTING ANYTHING WHILE PREGNANT ****

I was recently contacted through our Facebook page on whether pregnant woman are able to use marijuana. I want to be very clear, I AM NOT A DOCTOR! Before you ingest ANYTHING while pregnant, ask your doctor. I didn't want to leave my followers in the dark so I started doing some research.

While not a lot of research has been done on the long term effects of cannabis use in unborn babies, the short term research hasn't found any direct correlation to birth defects caused by a mothers marijuana use. Per the Cannifornian, Dr. Ira Chasnoff, a professor of clinical pediatrics at the University of Illinois College of Medicine, believes "The general (belief) is that marijuana is not harmful, but there are all sorts of aspects of cognitive function that are impacted by marijuana exposure." Dr. Chasnoff advised that research shows low birth rates in babies born to women who use pot while pregnant, as well as a high rate of ADD and ADHD in the children exposed to marijuana while in the womb. 

With the legalization of medicinal and recreational marijuana across most of the US, more and more pregnant woman are turning to the plant to help with morning sickness, pain management, and mood swings. According to the Journal of the American Medical Association, over 4 percent of pregnant woman between the ages of 18 and 44 reported having used marijuana in 2014. That was up from just 2 percent in 2002. (information will be updated once the current numbers are released) The consensus with most moms, and woman I have spoken to on the subject is the old saying "everything in moderation." Dr. Chasnoff disagrees. The claim that cannabis is ok because it is natural and organic should be taken with a grain of salt. There is always the potential to harm your fetus. THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) travels from the blood into the brain, so even a small amount has potential in reaching the fetus. 

Ok...Ok... Cannabis has the potential to harm your fetus; just as Aspirin, sushi, and even soft cheese does. So how does a plant that has been used for thousands of years for child birth and pain management suddenly become such a fetus harming danger? It all boils down, again,  to the fact that THC travels into the blood stream, it can cross through the placenta and effect the fetus. 

Now I did smoke small amounts of marijuana when I was pregnant. It was not every day, it wasn't even every month. I only ingested marijuana to help my insane sciatic pain and to help my terrible insomnia. Fast forward 11 years and I now have a strong, funny, insanely smart tween. No ADD, no ADHD, no birth defects, no asthma, no low birth weight, and no cognitive issues. If you are looking for my honest opinion, do not smoke when you are pregnant. If you are a casual recreational user looking for my ok to continue getting high while you grow a human inside of you, you will not get it from me. Now, if you have severe morning sickness, depression, or even the body cringing back pain I suffered through Marijuana might be your answer. Always break down the Pros and Cons and never be too afraid to ask your doctor. 


Mommies Who Smoke 
bottom of page